Elaine Thompson-Herah wins Laureus World Sportswoman of the year award

by April 24th, 2022

Jamaica’s two time Olympic sprint double champion Elaine Thompson-Herah has been named the Laureus world Sportswoman of the year.

Thompson-Herah won the honor during a digital ceremony hosted from Seville on Sunday.

She topped the podium in the 100m and 200m at the Tokyo Olympics last summer, setting an Olympic record in the 100m with a time of 10.61 seconds. She also helped her team to gold in the 4x100m relay.

She later became the second fastest woman when she sped to 10.54 seconds in winning at the Prefontaine Classic in Eugene.

Thompson-Herah became the first Jamaican woman to win the award and joins three time World record holder Usain Bolt as the only Jamaicans to win the prestigious award.

Formula one World Champion max Verstappen won the Sportsman of the year award,

Tennis star Emma Raducanu received the Laureus Breakthrough of the year award for her victory at the u.s. open last September.

Italy were named team of the year after winning football’s European Championship, NFL superstar Tom Brady took home the Lifetime award, Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski was given the Exceptional achievement award and MotoGP racer Valentino Rossi the Sporting icon award.

The award winners were determined by a secret ballot involving 71 voting members of the Laureus World Sports Academy.

%d bloggers like this: