Three more countries added to travel ban list

by March 10th, 2020

The government has extended the travel restrictions to three European countries.


They are Spain, France and Germany.


Health Minister Dr. Christopher Tufton had already announced travel restrictions on travel from China, Italy, South Korea, Singapore, and Iran.


Dr. Tufton says he and the foreign affairs minister met with the ambassadors of those countries, together with the ambassador for the e-u and informed them that based on the risk assessment of community spread of the virus in those countries that travel restrictions would be imposed.


And even as the government urges Jamaicans to remain calm, it’s also discouraging certain activities as it seeks to contain Covid 19, among them, non-essential travel.



Dr. Tufton also wants the public to adhere to infection prevention and control measures.


Persons seeking additional information are asked to contact 888-one- love (663-5683).


He says the government will keep the public informed as it manages this public health challenge.


Meantime, an 8 member Covid 19 response advisory team has been named to support the ministry of health’s planning and coordination.


The members are former President of the Private Sector Oganisation Howard Mitchell, Christopher Zacca, Former Commissioner of Police Owen Ellington, Reverend Devon Dick of the Jamaica Baptist Union and Deputy Associate Dean at the Faculty of Social Sciences, at the UWI Dr. Marina Ramkisoon.


The others are Commander Wenyss Gorman and Lieutenant Colonel Sydney Powell of the JDF; and ACP Calvin Allen of the JCF.